My Own Little Corner of Seville

2

September 30, 2012 by ebostick1212

photoHello amigos and vecinos!  I am coming to you from my very own apartment in Sevilla!  The window is wide open and the sun is pouring in.   I can hear the faint tinkling of glass and silverware from the tapas bar down the road.  The breeze is cool, and it carries the muttering voices of old men arguing about politics over an afternoon copa.  Sounds like a fairy tale…right?  It is, now.

I arrived on my doorstep on Thursday, during a torrential downpour.  As someone who has lived in Northwest England, I thought I knew rain.  My friends, I knew nothing about rain.  The boyfriend and I arrived at the mouth of the metro, and I seriously considered building an ark.  We dragged my suitcases through ankle deep streams forming alongside the curbs, and finally got to my apartment, but not before being soaked to the bones.  All the while I had one thought running through my head…’I should have lived closer to the metro’.

My apartment is about a ten minute walk from Gran Plaza, in a neighborhood called Nervion.  While this is seen as the business center of the city, I have found it to be a warm and familial place.  Maybe it is the playground across the street, or the fact that it is Sunday and all the families are out dining together.  It is far more tranquil than any of the plazas in the center of town, but this is something I was looking for.

Now that the sun has dried most of my belongings, I am beginning to feel at home in my new surroundings.  It is not that far from the metro, but everything always seems farther in the rain. After three days here,  I have gotten acquainted with my three room mates (A French guy and a Polish couple), and I have learned how to light gas stove with a match.   I’ve built a little rapport with the abuelitas who peek out at me as I pass by their apartments.  I smile at them, and they smile back.  Nothing special, but it makes me feel a little more at home.

Goals for the future: Find an old man bar, and settle in with the locals.

2 thoughts on “My Own Little Corner of Seville

  1. Juan Pedro says:

    Like I said, it reads like a song sounds. Beautiful!
    Jesus is everywhere, of course!

  2. Brent Bostick says:

    Betsy,

    I’m really enjoying your messages. So glad taht you are settling in and I’m interested in your summary of your first day of teaching. sounds like it was memorable

    love

    Dad

Leave a Reply

Mapless Mike

Living without a set route and seeing where life takes me

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Cut the Kitsch

a photographic journal

Love Mondegreens

from Southern Spain to Northern Ireland

Mappingthepeace

Complainings in blog format

Barcelona Blonde

A Barcelona blog and travel blog

Roamingtheworld

Traveler. Wanderer. Writer. Lauren writes about life abroad, her travels, and the unexpected. Currently in the SF Bay Area figuring out her next steps.

Living Clean, Cooking Dirty

Stories from a messy life

Two Flightless Birds

Traveling home overland!

Gee, Cassandra

Madrid and beyond

J|B

notes from writing, teaching & breathing in spain

Gil 2 Go

My two cents on photography, teaching , and expat life

izzi365

girl meets Spain, one day at a time

11.2500° N, 85.8667° W

A year in San Juan Del Sur

Spain Matters

Current affairs, News and What's On

One Bite at a Time

Traveling constantly, sampling liberally, living dramatically.

Spain For Pleasure

Culture, Lifestyle & Travel Blog about Spain

