Spanish Children….A Dictionary

Leave a comment

December 22, 2012 by ebostick1212

¡Seññññññññoooooo!

You are probably wondering, what the heck is a seño?  Trust me, I left my first class at Guadalquivir thinking the same.  Little did I know that this would be my well worn nickname in the coming months.  ‘Seño‘ in small Spanish child-speak, is a shortened version of señorita, or miss.  I was not told about this name, and I thought the children were calling me ‘señor‘…mister.  I left my first day of classes feeling a bit confused, and ever so slightly offended.  Needless to say, since October, I have become an expert at deciphering what these little niños say..in English and in Spanish.
Image

I love these little guys with all my heart, but usually I have no idea what they are saying.

Seño, cain eyyyy go to za bafroom pleeeze?‘. Take a guess.  ‘Miss, can I go to the bathroom, please?’.  This one seems to come up a lot if the children start getting bored.

Señooooo, Víctor/Miguel/Geraldo me ha empujaaaaaoooo‘. These children love to tattle on one another.  So, I usually get this ‘Miss, Victor/Miguel/Geraldo pushed me’ in an Andalucían accent, several times a day.

Teee-sher‘. The spanish child’s version of ‘teacher’…it is interchangeable with seño.

I fine sank you…and jou?´ An attempt of ‘I’m fine thank you, and you?’ This is the only response to the question ‘how are you?’.  These students learn English politeness from early on.  If it were an American teacher, you can be sure they would be taught how to complain about their day correctly, but here they learn that the polite response is ‘I’m fine, thank you’ regardless of how they actually are.  This phrase is memorized and rattled off whenever they are asked.

POR FAVÓ!‘. Not actually a child’s phrase.  This one is used by the teachers when a child is acting up…it is ‘PLEASE!’. As in ‘PLEASE STOP TALKING, JUANJO’. Or. ‘PLEASE STOP THROWING ERASERS, IGNACIO’ or,’PLEASE STOP TRYING TO STICK THAT PENCIL UP LOLA’s NOSE, MANUEL’.

To be totally honest, learning Spanish has been pretty easy.  I learned the grammar, the structure, and the vocabulary in college…I have yet to find a university course in Kid Language, but trust me, if it existed, I would be the first to sign up!

Leave a Reply

Mapless Mike

Living without a set route and seeing where life takes me

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Cut the Kitsch

a photographic journal

Love Mondegreens

from Southern Spain to Northern Ireland

Mappingthepeace

Complainings in blog format

Barcelona Blonde

A Barcelona blog and travel blog

Roamingtheworld

Traveler. Wanderer. Writer. Lauren writes about life abroad, her travels, and the unexpected. Currently in the SF Bay Area figuring out her next steps.

Living Clean, Cooking Dirty

Stories from a messy life

Two Flightless Birds

Traveling home overland!

Gee, Cassandra

Madrid and beyond

J|B

notes from writing, teaching & breathing in spain

Gil 2 Go

My two cents on photography, teaching , and expat life

izzi365

girl meets Spain, one day at a time

11.2500° N, 85.8667° W

A year in San Juan Del Sur

Spain Matters

Current affairs, News and What's On

One Bite at a Time

Traveling constantly, sampling liberally, living dramatically.

Spain For Pleasure

Culture, Lifestyle & Travel Blog about Spain

