A Note About Blogging

2

January 20, 2013 by ebostick1212

When I started writing my own blog, I started combing through the travel blogosphere, one post at a time.  Never having succeeded with a blog before, I was curious to see what was out there, and what the ‘protocol’ was.

If there is one thing that I have learned, it is that there is a lot of pressure, especially with those of us in Spain, a country rich in both culture and stereotype, to constantly write things like ‘tapas, bullfights, flamenco ¡olé!’.  And while this is certainly is part of the culture, and should be highlighted at points, it isn’t what I want my blog to be completely about.

I am having a great time here in Spain, and not all of it necessarily happens at a tapas bar, or in a bull ring.  The joy I find in this cultural experience isn’t in doing every tourist thing out there.  My joy comes from talking and listening to the people of this country, learning about heritage/politics/food/language.  My joy is in interacting with people.

My goal for this blog is to give an honest account about the things I have learned while living here.  The things I have learned by befriending Spaniards, and not just a check list of all of the famous places I have visited.  In all honesty, I have learned more chatting around the brasero, than I have with tour guides.

2 thoughts on “A Note About Blogging

  1. JG says:

    I had a similar experience when I spent several months in France during a study abroad program. I made many friends and have so many moments that I really cherished. to the outside observer they may seem boring but in France every get together was infused with conversation, friendship, politics, etc over some wonderful food and awesome wine. These nights taught me so much more about modern French culture than the awful university courses that I was expected to take. Learn form the people themselves- it’s a study in humanity!

  2. ebostick1212 says:

    I completely agree! I can learn facts about a country from any guide book, but for topics, in particular, like the crisis, I feel like it is important to go straight to the source. Where did you study in France? I studied in Amiens, in the North, for a year!

Leave a Reply

Mapless Mike

Living without a set route and seeing where life takes me

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Cut the Kitsch

a photographic journal

Love Mondegreens

from Southern Spain to Northern Ireland

Mappingthepeace

Complainings in blog format

Barcelona Blonde

A Barcelona blog and travel blog

Roamingtheworld

Traveler. Wanderer. Writer. Lauren writes about life abroad, her travels, and the unexpected. Currently in the SF Bay Area figuring out her next steps.

Living Clean, Cooking Dirty

Stories from a messy life

Two Flightless Birds

Traveling home overland!

Gee, Cassandra

Madrid and beyond

J|B

notes from writing, teaching & breathing in spain

Gil 2 Go

My two cents on photography, teaching , and expat life

izzi365

girl meets Spain, one day at a time

11.2500° N, 85.8667° W

A year in San Juan Del Sur

Spain Matters

Current affairs, News and What's On

One Bite at a Time

Traveling constantly, sampling liberally, living dramatically.

Spain For Pleasure

Culture, Lifestyle & Travel Blog about Spain

