Let’s Check Back In With My Goals, Shall We?

Leave a comment

February 21, 2013 by ebostick1212

Several months ago, I assigned myself some goals, in order to provide some focus to my time in Spain.  It has been almost seven months since I got here, so I think it is time to check in.  In my academically oriented mind, I like to think of it as a midterm exam of sorts.

 

1.  Learn Spanish:  I have been doing really well with this goal.  I may not be fluent yet, but I have noticed a definite improvement.  I can speak faster, and it doesn’t seem so difficult to put a sentence together.  I have even started to dream in Spanish!

2. Save some money:  Ok, lets be honest.  I had eight classes at the beginning of the year, but I had a group class cancellation, due to one of the students losing their job.  So, I haven’t saved as much as I wanted…but…I have saved the majority of the grant that the Junta gives me.  I have become reaaalllly good at living on a shoestring.  Every little counts, right?

3. Travel as much as I can afford:  My travel adventures have just begun!  I went on a day trip to Cordoba, but the Mezquita was closed, so I definitely want to get back.  Also, next week, I am headed to Granada for the first time!  I will head to Malaga for Semana Santa. I am really excited to start seeing more of this beautiful region.

4. Make some friends:  I am still working on finding friends my age, but for now I am happy to say that I get along really well with my co-workers, and my neighbors.

5.Try new food:  This is something I have definitely done.  I have racked up a list of my favorite tapas, including carrillada–braised pig jowl, espinacas con garbanzos–spinach with chickpeas, and solomillo al whisky–pork with whisky sauce.

 

So, what do you think?  Do you think I passed my midterm exam?  I think so.  Things haven’t gone as perfectly as planned, but when does that ever actually happen?  I think I have been doing a good job completing my goals, and creating new ones.

My newest goal?  Work on becoming comfortable as the head of the classroom.  I am assistant, but I’ve been put in the role of substitute teacher lately, and I am learning how to assume the role of ‘teacher’.

Leave a Reply

Mapless Mike

Living without a set route and seeing where life takes me

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Cut the Kitsch

a photographic journal

Love Mondegreens

from Southern Spain to Northern Ireland

Mappingthepeace

Complainings in blog format

Barcelona Blonde

A Barcelona blog and travel blog

Roamingtheworld

Traveler. Wanderer. Writer. Lauren writes about life abroad, her travels, and the unexpected. Currently in the SF Bay Area figuring out her next steps.

Living Clean, Cooking Dirty

Stories from a messy life

Two Flightless Birds

Traveling home overland!

Gee, Cassandra

Madrid and beyond

J|B

notes from writing, teaching & breathing in spain

Gil 2 Go

My two cents on photography, teaching , and expat life

izzi365

girl meets Spain, one day at a time

11.2500° N, 85.8667° W

A year in San Juan Del Sur

Spain Matters

Current affairs, News and What's On

One Bite at a Time

Traveling constantly, sampling liberally, living dramatically.

Spain For Pleasure

Culture, Lifestyle & Travel Blog about Spain

