Spanish Foods I Could Live Without

4

February 23, 2013 by ebostick1212

On the whole, I have to say I love Spanish cuisine. It is savory and homey, and keeps you warm and happy all day. Still, as everyone has their own personal preferences, I have to be honest and own up to the fact that I don’t love EVERYTHING here.  So I’ll let you in on my secret, and let you know which foods I avoid.  (By all means, if you are in Spain, you should definitely try everything, as my palate is just as different as the next person’s.)

1.  Fuet–This is a Catalonian sausage that is cured and dried.  It is super popular, even down here in Andalucía, but I can’t get it down.  To me it tastes….sweaty….I think my aversion was created when I popped a big slice into my mouth expecting it to taste like chorizo, when actually it does not. At all.

2. Choco–This is like calamari’s bigger cousin.  It is basically the same thing, squid, but usually it is cut into wide slices and thrown into a stew with potatoes.  I don’t love it.  I really like squid when it is sliced up finely, but I find the thick rings of choco texturally difficult.  The taste is inoffensive, but the texture is hard to take.

3.  Anything with yema, especially Tocino de Cielo–I have always found eggy desserts gross, whether it be flan, custard, or those egg tarts from the dim sum restaurant.  I just don’t like egg yolks pushed to the sweet side, and that is precisely what yema is…egg yolks.  Tocino de Cielo, a dessert that when translated, is called ‘Fat from Heaven’ is basically egg yolk mixed with sugar, forming a bright yellow, sticky, stiff blocks.  It is realllllllly sweet (all that sugar) and has that eggy aftertaste that I despise.

4.  Turrón–I know, I know, I am really beating up on Spanish desserts here, but I am not really a sweet person, anyway.  Give me some patatas fritas over an ice cream sundae any day.  I am sure almost every household in Spain would beg to differ, telling me that this holiday treat is delicious, but I can’t stomach it.  Soft turrón tastes like peanut butter without the benefit of jelly, and hard turrón threatens to crack my teeth.  Chocolate turrón, eh, it is ok, but not something I go out of my way to eat.

For the most part, everything I taste here will be something I want to eat again.   Chorizo, alubias, tortilla, delicious!  I will try every type of food you give me, as my mother always insisted on  ‘no-thank-you helpings’.  Yet like everyone else in the world, there are some things I just can’t get past my teeth.

Do you have a favorite Spanish dish?  What about a least favorite?  C’mon, be honest!

4 thoughts on “Spanish Foods I Could Live Without

  1. I don’t like fuet much either, and am often slightly disgusted by jamón serrano (shhh, don’t tell the Spaniards!). I’m trying my hardest to like it, but I just don’t get it.

    I love turrón though!

    • ebostick1212 says:

      *GASP*. I’m telling the Spaniards. Haha I get it, ham is kind of an aquired taste, I think. I didn’t like it at first, and I still don’t like it if it’s cut too thickly….there is such a thing of too much ham. Or are you one of those people who only goes for the pata negra? 😛

  2. izzih says:

    On my once and never again list: callos, manitas, oreja (bit of an offal theme). Also slightly embarrassed to admit I am not the hugest paella fan – it just tastes overcooked to me! I would give soft turron another chance though, there are tons of flavours and the ones with whole nuts in are amazing!

    • ebostick1212 says:

      Haha, I’ve had several Spanish people tell me that in order to eat callos, you have to not know what it is. That being said, I haven’t tried it yet, and I know what’s in it. I do like one kind of turron, Nata y nueces, but it doesn’t have that super hard or sticky consistency like the traditional almond kinds.

Leave a Reply

Mapless Mike

Living without a set route and seeing where life takes me

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Cut the Kitsch

a photographic journal

Love Mondegreens

from Southern Spain to Northern Ireland

Mappingthepeace

Complainings in blog format

Barcelona Blonde

A Barcelona blog and travel blog

Roamingtheworld

Traveler. Wanderer. Writer. Lauren writes about life abroad, her travels, and the unexpected. Currently in the SF Bay Area figuring out her next steps.

Living Clean, Cooking Dirty

Stories from a messy life

Two Flightless Birds

Traveling home overland!

Gee, Cassandra

Madrid and beyond

J|B

notes from writing, teaching & breathing in spain

Gil 2 Go

My two cents on photography, teaching , and expat life

izzi365

girl meets Spain, one day at a time

11.2500° N, 85.8667° W

A year in San Juan Del Sur

Spain Matters

Current affairs, News and What's On

One Bite at a Time

Traveling constantly, sampling liberally, living dramatically.

Spain For Pleasure

Culture, Lifestyle & Travel Blog about Spain

