Torrijas Time

3

March 17, 2013 by ebostick1212

In spite of living in other countries for the last three years, I am coming up on my third Semana Santa, or Holy Week in Spain. First it was my random solo trip to Alicante in 2011, then last year I used my Easter break to come to Sevilla and spend time with the boyfriend. I am starting to get used to run-up to Semana Santa, a time I like to call ‘Torrijas Time’

This part of the year is so titillating because of all the holiday specific treats that start to appear in bakeries and store fronts. I should be all excited about all the statues of Virgins and Christ passing from calle to calle, and the gorgeous Semana Santa music playing day and night…but honestly, as a native Ohioan, I get very excited at the prospect of a bounty of fried food.

So let’s talk torrijas. What are they? The best way I can describe them is as French Toast….but better. Torrijas are thick slices of white bread, covered in egg and wine, and fried. Then they are slathered in honey. The result is an gooey, sticky cake like slice of bread. So. Freakin’. Delicious.

This is the only photo of a torrija that I own.  Not very appetizing....so I will use a stock photo to emphasize their deliciousness.

This is the only photo of a torrija that I own. Not very appetizing….so I will use a stock photo to emphasize their deliciousness.

In addition to torrijas, there are roscos, cake donuts, that are wonderful…especially when you sneak a hot one from the pile your boyfriend’s mother just made. (Except when you subsequently burn the roof of your mouth and then can’t taste anything else for the rest of the week.)

There are also pestiños. I’ve never had these, but I am definitely planning on trying these within the next few days. These are little fried pieces of dough, covered in honey, and folded origami style. They are beautiful and remind me of autumn leaves. I don’t know how they taste, but if they taste the way they look, I’m confident they are muy ricos.

 

My willpower is going to be tested over the next few weeks. Over the last six months, I have lost two dress sizes, and I don’t want to pack it back on! This will be no easy task considering the delights that tempt me in every window on every street corner!

3 thoughts on “Torrijas Time

  1. izzih says:

    Mmm torrijas! You have just given me such a craving for some! I have to say that pestiños aren’t that great – they are kind of hard and a bit sickly. Maybe they deserve a second chance though!

  2. Cassandra says:

    I second Izzi about the pestiños, the ones I tried in Alcala were disappointing! I say go with torrijas for your Easter treat!

Leave a Reply

Mapless Mike

Living without a set route and seeing where life takes me

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Cut the Kitsch

a photographic journal

Love Mondegreens

from Southern Spain to Northern Ireland

Mappingthepeace

Complainings in blog format

Barcelona Blonde

A Barcelona blog and travel blog

Roamingtheworld

Traveler. Wanderer. Writer. Lauren writes about life abroad, her travels, and the unexpected. Currently in the SF Bay Area figuring out her next steps.

Living Clean, Cooking Dirty

Stories from a messy life

Two Flightless Birds

Traveling home overland!

Gee, Cassandra

Madrid and beyond

J|B

notes from writing, teaching & breathing in spain

Gil 2 Go

My two cents on photography, teaching , and expat life

izzi365

girl meets Spain, one day at a time

11.2500° N, 85.8667° W

A year in San Juan Del Sur

Spain Matters

Current affairs, News and What's On

One Bite at a Time

Traveling constantly, sampling liberally, living dramatically.

Spain For Pleasure

Culture, Lifestyle & Travel Blog about Spain

