Andalú

3

March 24, 2013 by ebostick1212

I remember checking into my hotel in Madrid before heading to Sevilla, and having a conversation with the receptionist. I was just coming off a high from graduating from college with a degree in French and Spanish, and I was feeling pretty confident with myself.

‘Oh man, this Spanish-speaking thing is so easy. I understand everything she’s saying. I have got this under control.’

The next day, after the three hour ride down south, that smug, know-it-all smile was wiped clean off my face. I didn’t understand ANYTHING.

I should have known better, considering I had been to Sevilla several times to visit my boyfriend, and often found myself listening to his father, pretending to understand…but they live in a pueblo, and I made the naïve assumption that maybe city folk would speak a little bit clearer. Nope. Everyone down here speaks with an accent….and it is thick. In reality, it just takes some getting used to. It is like a Spanish person traveling up to Scotland. Difficult, right?

So, in order to prepare all you intending to speak Spanish here, I have put together a little overview of some of the things you will hear.

1. First of all, this dialect can differ wildly from provincia to provincia. The most notable example of this is the difference between seseo and ceceo speakers. Seseo speakers will use the sssss sound for everything, and not lisp, while ceceo speakers will lisp just about everything.

English: Easy
Castellano: Sencillo
Seseo: SenSillo
Ceceo: Thenthillo

What you hear depends on where you are in Andalucía.

As you can see, accents within accents.

As you can see, accents within accents.

2. Andalucíans eat their words. You will find yourself trying to piece together what someone has said, because many of the syllables will be left out. ‘Claro‘ in Castellano becomes ‘ ‘aro‘ in Andalú. ‘Todo‘ just becomes ‘‘.

During the summer it isn’t uncommon to hear people walking around saying ‘¡que caló, que caló!‘, cutting up the Castellano word ‘calor‘. This means ‘it’s so hot!’ (which is true if you’ve ever spent time in Sevilla in the summer.)

3. It isn’t uncommon to change an ‘L’ sound to an ‘R’ sound. So, instead of saying ‘culpa tuya‘, or your fault, it becomes ‘curpa tuya’. Also, the masculine article el, meaning the, often becomes ‘er’.

On game day down here, you can hear people shouting ¡Viva er Betis!, rooting on their favorite soccer team.

4. One of the first things I noticed about Andalucíans, was that they don’t pronounce the -ado/-ido endings of some verbs. For example, to say ‘I was in Almería, yesterday’, people who speak Spanish say ‘He estado en Almería ayer.’. An Andalucían might say ‘ he estao en Almería ayeh

I have found that I have started rounding out the endings, as well. I say ‘he comio, ya‘ or ‘he cogio el autobú

There are several other curiosities to the Andalucían dialect, but I don’t want to turn this into a research paper. So instead, I am going to give a pop quiz…how well do you know Andalú?

Translate into Castellano and English.
1. L’Andalú é un dialehto de ehpañol.
2.¡Chiquilla, no pasa ná!
3. Sí, ehtoy un poco mejó
4. ¿Que pasa mi arma?
5. Vamo a comprá un cucurucho de pescaíto frito.

3 thoughts on “Andalú

  1. almcgough says:

    Oh wow, I didn’t realize how different the accents were withing one region! If I do become an auxiliar in Spain, that would take some adjustment. I’m far more familiar with Central American Spanish and am told my accent sounds more Mexican than anything else.

    • ebostick1212 says:

      Yeah, the accents vary tremendously down here. I can’t differentiate all of them yet. I can tell an Andaluz from someone from Madrid or Catalonia, but I can’t hear the difference between someone from Andalucía and Extremadura for example. It takes some getting used to!

    • ebostick1212 says:

      Yeah, accents here actually even vary from pueblo to pueblo…it is pretty amazing. It will take some getting used to, but pretty soon you’ll understand. They say if you can understand Andalú, you can understand any Spanish!

Leave a Reply

Mapless Mike

Living without a set route and seeing where life takes me

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Cut the Kitsch

a photographic journal

Love Mondegreens

from Southern Spain to Northern Ireland

Mappingthepeace

Complainings in blog format

Barcelona Blonde

A Barcelona blog and travel blog

Roamingtheworld

Traveler. Wanderer. Writer. Lauren writes about life abroad, her travels, and the unexpected. Currently in the SF Bay Area figuring out her next steps.

Living Clean, Cooking Dirty

Stories from a messy life

Two Flightless Birds

Traveling home overland!

Gee, Cassandra

Madrid and beyond

J|B

notes from writing, teaching & breathing in spain

Gil 2 Go

My two cents on photography, teaching , and expat life

izzi365

girl meets Spain, one day at a time

11.2500° N, 85.8667° W

A year in San Juan Del Sur

Spain Matters

Current affairs, News and What's On

One Bite at a Time

Traveling constantly, sampling liberally, living dramatically.

Spain For Pleasure

Culture, Lifestyle & Travel Blog about Spain

