Coffee, Coffee, Coffee

6

April 24, 2013 by ebostick1212

It doesn’t surprise me that I am sitting in a café right now, writing this.  It seems to me that most my inspiration comes while I am sitting in a bustling hole in the wall, staring into a glass of milky liquid.

I’ve never really had any vices.  I’ve never been a big drinker, apart from the odd glass of wine with dinner, and after seeing many people struggle to quit, I vowed never to try cigarettes.  And yet, the long ebony claws of coffee addiction seemed to have grasped at me.

I didn’t even like coffee until a couple of years ago, when I moved to France and started a steady diet of noisettes, espresso with a touch of milk.  Even then, I was able to stop, and switched back to the lesser evil–tea, when I moved back to England.

The beast awaited me as I moved to Spain, where a morning espresso is the norm.  I quickly fell back into my old caffeine fueled ways.  With everyone crowding around the coffee machine at recess, and  free time between private lessons, I often find myself sidling up to a scalding cup of café con leche.  Sometimes three times a day.  And this isn’t the watery American stuff…this is the good stuff that gives you the jitters after one cup.

As an already nervous personality-type, I am aware that this is probably not a healthy decision, and so I find myself trying to cut back.  I order a leche manchada, more milk, less espresso, but I can’t stop, I get withdrawal headaches.   I have to tell myself that it isn’t cutting back if I double the amount of manchadas I drink.   It is like I’ll be injecting it into my veins, soon.

While I guess there are worst things to be addicted to, I still shudder to think how much money I’ve spent on coffee this year.  50 cents there, one euro here,  but it all adds up.  Rather, I stare pensively into my empty cup and tell myself that this caffeine is a good thing, it will get me through a long day with the kids, and then private classes.

I say that until I lie in bed at night, staring at the ceiling, cursing the fact that I drank three cups of liquid nervousness.  I toss and I turn, and when the first rays of sunlight wake me in morning, I pry one eye open and think ‘God I need a cup of coffee…’.

It is a vicious cycle, and one that I probably won’t be escaping soon, considering the full work days ahead of me.  But hey, at least I’m not drinking Starbucks.*

*This is a lie.  I do drink Starbucks.

6 thoughts on “Coffee, Coffee, Coffee

  1. Coffee is a virtue, not a vice – unless, of course, you’re one of those people who adulterates one’s coffee by adding milk or cream or sugar or other substances.

    In the words of a song my dad wrote several decades ago, “make it coffee strong and black” (but not Starbucks coffee: friends don’t let friends drink Starbucks).

  2. trishagale says:

    When you are traveling in a city you don’t know……..Starbucks, like McDonalds, has a clean toilet and wifi!!

  3. Friends don’t let friends drink Starbucks.

  4. […] kicked my diet coke habit, and subsequently fell into a coffee habit. In no small part, due to this, I became a regular at a […]

Leave a Reply

Mapless Mike

Living without a set route and seeing where life takes me

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Cut the Kitsch

a photographic journal

Love Mondegreens

from Southern Spain to Northern Ireland

Mappingthepeace

Complainings in blog format

Barcelona Blonde

A Barcelona blog and travel blog

Roamingtheworld

Traveler. Wanderer. Writer. Lauren writes about life abroad, her travels, and the unexpected. Currently in the SF Bay Area figuring out her next steps.

Living Clean, Cooking Dirty

Stories from a messy life

Two Flightless Birds

Traveling home overland!

Gee, Cassandra

Madrid and beyond

J|B

notes from writing, teaching & breathing in spain

Gil 2 Go

My two cents on photography, teaching , and expat life

izzi365

girl meets Spain, one day at a time

11.2500° N, 85.8667° W

A year in San Juan Del Sur

Spain Matters

Current affairs, News and What's On

One Bite at a Time

Traveling constantly, sampling liberally, living dramatically.

Spain For Pleasure

Culture, Lifestyle & Travel Blog about Spain

