Un Buen Momento Relajante en Los Baños Árabes

3

May 12, 2013 by ebostick1212

Currently, I am going through my quarter-life crisis.  Basically, I have realized that I am now 25 years old, and I need to decide what to do with my life. This has produced A LOT of stress.  More often than not, I lay awake at night, thinking ‘well, I could teach Spanish, but I really want to go into international student services or…..’. This has been going on for months, and it has left me a bit frazzled.

When this stress reached its peak in mid-April, my boyfriend presented me with something that was quite the saving grace.  We had given his mom and dad a gift certificate for the Baños Árabes, or Arab Baths in Bormujos, for a Christmas gift.  These baths can be found all over the south of Spain, and are similar to a spa.  They have soaking pools, jacuzzis, and saunas.  Unfortunately, his mother and father couldn’t find a time that they could go together, and decided to let us use the certificate.

Source: Baños Árabes Medina Aljarafe (Obviously these pictures aren´t mine, as I was not planning on dragging a camera around open water.)

Source: Baños Árabes Medina Aljarafe
(Obviously these pictures aren´t mine, as I was not planning on dragging a camera around open water.)

Most of the time my boyfriend and I are so busy that we barely get to see each other during the week, but with all our private classes cancelled for the Feria de Abril, we thought it would be the perfect time to go and let our hair down.  (Well, I’d let my hair down…his head is shaved.)

Apart from the odd manicure, or prom hair-do, I have never been to a spa, and I am not being hyperbolic when I say that this was one of the best experiences.  OF ALL TIME.  When I am a millionaire from all of my excellent English teaching,  I will be booking regular spa visits.

As it was the week of Feria, we had the baños all to ourselves.  I reveled in the silence as I floated around the tepid pool, with an empty mind. As I drifted on my back, I got lost in the intricacy of the Mudéjar tiling.  I cleared my lungs in the steam room, inhaling the thick, eucalyptus stained air.  I am pretty sure my boyfriend fell asleep in the jacuzzi, but I´m not sure, I was too busy relaxing to care.

The pièce de résistance was a massage.  At first, when the masseuse requested that I pull off my swimsuit top, I approached with trepidation…there were three other people in the room, so honestly, I was hesitant.  Yet within a second and without warning, the masseuse had whipped off my top and positioned me face down on the table.  After getting over my American prudishness, I let her work her magic.  Between the lavender oil’s dreamy scent wafting around the room, the candlelight, and a masseuse working all of the knots out of my muscles, I began to relax…and soon I didn’t care at all that I was topless in a room of mostly-strangers.
As we walked home from the baños, everything outside seemed more tranquil.  The sun was setting, and a breeze had drifted in, cooling off the scorching pavement.  The seemingly endless fears and anxieties about life plans retreated temporarily.  Of course, it  would be back with a vengeance in due time, but I appreciated this momentary reprieve from the stress that had been plaguing me for months.

Los Baños Árabes Medina Aljarafe are located on Calle Hernán Cortés, 12 in Bormujos, just outside of Sevilla.  Call 954 78 83 44 to get a reservation and give this hidden gem a try!

3 thoughts on “Un Buen Momento Relajante en Los Baños Árabes

  1. afrisk says:

    Well said! I also recently turned 25 and was feeling a similar anxiety! I think there’s an American cultural expectation for young twenty-somethings that gives you only a bit of freedom before you need to get “responsible”. Or perhaps it’s my way of seeing it. Either way, I signed on for another year of nomadic living as well!

    • ebostick1212 says:

      Maybe that is a good way of looking at it. I’ve been freaking out since I’ve started getting wedding invites every week and have younger friends documenting their baby bumps on facebook. Well, I’d rather have amazing experiences than a baby right now, so maybe I am on the right track! Besides, 25 isn’t ‘old’!

Leave a Reply

Mapless Mike

Living without a set route and seeing where life takes me

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Cut the Kitsch

a photographic journal

Love Mondegreens

from Southern Spain to Northern Ireland

Mappingthepeace

Complainings in blog format

Barcelona Blonde

A Barcelona blog and travel blog

Roamingtheworld

Traveler. Wanderer. Writer. Lauren writes about life abroad, her travels, and the unexpected. Currently in the SF Bay Area figuring out her next steps.

Living Clean, Cooking Dirty

Stories from a messy life

Two Flightless Birds

Traveling home overland!

Gee, Cassandra

Madrid and beyond

J|B

notes from writing, teaching & breathing in spain

Gil 2 Go

My two cents on photography, teaching , and expat life

izzi365

girl meets Spain, one day at a time

11.2500° N, 85.8667° W

A year in San Juan Del Sur

Spain Matters

Current affairs, News and What's On

One Bite at a Time

Traveling constantly, sampling liberally, living dramatically.

Spain For Pleasure

Culture, Lifestyle & Travel Blog about Spain

