Living on the Surface of the Sun When You Are a Vampire

4

June 15, 2013 by ebostick1212

So, I may not be sparkly, like that guy from Twilight, but I am guessing we are probably related in some way.  I am pale.  Super pale in comparison to most of the people here in the south of Spain. Even in America,  I struggle finding any sort of face makeup at the drugstore, since it all seems too dark to me, and I have the ability to camouflage myself into pale surfaces.  I think that my skin is more translucent than any actual color.

My long gone ancestors hailed from the snowiest regions of Sweden.  Sweden.  A country that is basically the exact opposite of Spain. As my family tree evolved, it seemed like melanin in the skin wasn’t considered important, and paleness was encoded into my genetics.

Obviously pastiness runs in the family.

Obviously pastiness runs in the family.

So, why, do you ask, would you move to a city that is basically the surface of the sun with a cathedral?  The truth is, I don’t know.  At least I was wise enough to stock up on sunscreen.

It almost reached 100 degrees the other day.   I was here last August, so I shouldn’t be surprised when the temperature leaps to three digit numbers, but it never ceases to amaze me, especially because I come from the land of air con.  In all actuality, my house in Rhode Island doesn’t have air conditioning, either, but I was spoiled by years of cool sea breezes, and the occasional rumbling thunderstorm offering up respite.

Not my pic, but have seen the thermometers reach this level recently.   Source: tripadvisor.com

Not my pic, but have seen the thermometers reach this level recently.
Source: tripadvisor.com

Here, it is just hot.  All the time.  There isn’t a break.  The temperature soars all day and all night.  People here live without air conditioning, retreating into their cool, dark houses for the hottest part of the day.

You know what is the worst, though?  Having obligations during the hottest part of the day.  I can’t retreat into my dark little cave and hide from the sun.  Yesterday I walked around  for an hour and a half in direct sunlight, in order to get to my private class.  This wasn’t a problem a few months ago, but yesterday I could practically feel myself cooking.

I head home next week, back to the land of air con and sea breezes…but not before having a few more killer afternoon obligations. I keep having this totally rational irrational fear that people will emerge from their refreshingly cool homes at the end of the day, and find me; stuck to the sidewalk like a burnt cookie.  Even worse, I fear someone will have to scrape me off with a spatula.  Pobre rubita, poor little blond girl, they will say, as they peel my scorched, once pale self off the still-broiling asphalt.

Accurate description of my life right now.  Except I don't own a car.

Accurate description of my life right now. Except I don’t own a car.

4 thoughts on “Living on the Surface of the Sun When You Are a Vampire

  1. izzih says:

    I feel your pain! I was in Jaen last August, and although it isn’t quite as hot as Sevilla, it was still regularly reaching 46 + degrees during the day, and 38+ at night. I just spent everyday with a portable fan attached to me like an IV drip!

  2. Haha this is hilarious, although I’m sorry – it sounds pretty uncomfortable. Even though I’m super pale, growing up in southern California means I love the sun. I don’t feel properly ‘me’ unless it’s sunny and hot outside.

    I’m with you on missing A/C though. Sigh.

    • ebostick1212 says:

      And this is where we differ. I am from a seaside town in RI, so it gets hot, but the wind is always blowing. That and the fact that I lived in England, in near constant rain for three years turned me into a weird, pale mole person! This kind of stagnant heat is something I never experienced until coming here for the first time a few years ago.

Leave a Reply

Mapless Mike

Living without a set route and seeing where life takes me

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Cut the Kitsch

a photographic journal

Love Mondegreens

from Southern Spain to Northern Ireland

Mappingthepeace

Complainings in blog format

Barcelona Blonde

A Barcelona blog and travel blog

Roamingtheworld

Traveler. Wanderer. Writer. Lauren writes about life abroad, her travels, and the unexpected. Currently in the SF Bay Area figuring out her next steps.

Living Clean, Cooking Dirty

Stories from a messy life

Two Flightless Birds

Traveling home overland!

Gee, Cassandra

Madrid and beyond

J|B

notes from writing, teaching & breathing in spain

Gil 2 Go

My two cents on photography, teaching , and expat life

izzi365

girl meets Spain, one day at a time

11.2500° N, 85.8667° W

A year in San Juan Del Sur

Spain Matters

Current affairs, News and What's On

One Bite at a Time

Traveling constantly, sampling liberally, living dramatically.

Spain For Pleasure

Culture, Lifestyle & Travel Blog about Spain

