Memory Lane: Preston, England

Leave a comment

June 17, 2013 by ebostick1212

I am currently perched on the edge of returning to the US, semi-permanently.  I have my auxiliar position here in Córdoba, but if I can get job in America that would better prepare me for the future….I might take it.

While on this perch, I have been thinking a lot about my nomadic history.  I have been living in Spain for a year, but haven’t been home (except for the odd summer vacation) since 2008.

I call myself a nomad, so I must have been wandering.  Where have I been?

I have written A LOT about Spain; WordPress has informed me that I have written seventy blog posts, all of them about this country that I love so much.

I thought I would highlight some of my previous homes.  While Sevilla has been incredibly important to me, these other places also helped shape me into the person I am today.  They may not be as glamorous, but they deserve a chance in the limelight too!

So where do we start?  I guess we start at my first leap abroad : Preston, England.

….where?

Preston is a small industrial city, nestled between Manchester and Liverpool.  It is kind of gritty, but it was a place I called home for three years.

In 2008 I was in a major rut.  I hated college, and I wasn’t getting anywhere with it.  I wasn’t inspired by anything, and I spent many an evening asking what was the point of paying thousands of dollars in tuition for an education that didn’t do anything for me.

So I figured, if I was going to get a college education, I was going to start over, get inspired, and not weigh myself down with major student loans.

I made a decision.

I started applying to universities in the UK, a place where I could get a quality education and not pay for it for the rest of my life.  Since I wanted to study languages, I could have gone directly to France or Spain, but I was not ready to dive into the deep end of the pool.   In the UK it is standard for a language student to do three years in the UK, and one studying or working in a country of their target language….so I could have the best of both worlds.  After being accepted to a few universities, I chose the one that best suited me.  The University of Central Lancashire.

My favorite building for three years.

My favorite building for three years.

So, after getting my visa, I packed up and left. It was a huge leap of faith, and it was the best decision I ever made.  

Preston isn’t the prettiest of cities, but is where I found myself academically inspired, interested in Modern Languages, and ready to do coursework.  This is the city lit a fire underneath me.  This person, who hated college four years before, took courses in Portuguese and Arabic, and wrote a full academic dissertation on Regional French Languages…and enjoyed every minute of it!

Preston isn’t famous in any way, but it is where I met people who will stay with me forever.  I arrived, barely knowing anyone, and graduated in 2012, with a bevy of life-long friends.

Preston isn’t London or Edinburgh, but, perhaps most importantly, it is where the seed of my nomadic persona was planted.  It was here that I got my first taste of international living, and became slightly nomadic.

Next stop...Amiens, France!

Next stop…Amiens, France!

Leave a Reply

Mapless Mike

Living without a set route and seeing where life takes me

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Cut the Kitsch

a photographic journal

Love Mondegreens

from Southern Spain to Northern Ireland

Mappingthepeace

Complainings in blog format

Barcelona Blonde

A Barcelona blog and travel blog

Roamingtheworld

Traveler. Wanderer. Writer. Lauren writes about life abroad, her travels, and the unexpected. Currently in the SF Bay Area figuring out her next steps.

Living Clean, Cooking Dirty

Stories from a messy life

Two Flightless Birds

Traveling home overland!

Gee, Cassandra

Madrid and beyond

J|B

notes from writing, teaching & breathing in spain

Gil 2 Go

My two cents on photography, teaching , and expat life

izzi365

girl meets Spain, one day at a time

11.2500° N, 85.8667° W

A year in San Juan Del Sur

Spain Matters

Current affairs, News and What's On

One Bite at a Time

Traveling constantly, sampling liberally, living dramatically.

Spain For Pleasure

Culture, Lifestyle & Travel Blog about Spain

