Jet Lag Woes

1

June 28, 2013 by ebostick1212

Good morning?  Good evening?  I have no idea what time it is.

I am finally, FINALLY, a blogger back on US soil, after a couple of long and boring plane rides.

As of now, 5:30 in the morning, East Coast time, and I am wide awake and ready for lunch.  Maybe this is because I skipped dinner last night in order to pass out snoring.  I’ve traveled thousands of miles, jumped over a couple of time zones, and have just woken up feeling like I have been hit by an oncoming bus.

I have made the ‘puddle jump ‘ so many times that generally, jet lag doesn’t phase me anymore.  I usually follow a strict set of rules to get my body acclimatized quickly.  However, I didn’t pay any attention to these rules this time, and now I am suffering the consequences.

So let’s all learn from my mistakes here, and remember a few important things to do when you are traveling across time zones.

1.  Drink as much water as you can hold on the plane.
Ok, so not technically a jet lag rule, as it has nothing to do with sleeping, but I find the dry air on airplanes to be torture.  The worst part of being jetlagged isn’t really the ‘waking up at weird hours’ part…it is the ‘waking up feeling like I’ve been punched in the face part’.  I have a theory that dehydration has a lot to do with this feeling, and I try to ward it off by guzzling several bottles of water throughout my flights.  Of course, then I become that annoying person who has to get up every fifteen minutes to head to the lavatory.  Still…do this!  It definitely relieves jet lag symptoms!

You don't want to end up at the airport haggard,like this.

You don’t want to end up at the airport haggard,like this.

2.  Sleep on the plane.
I don’t care if you can’t sleep sitting straight up.  This is a must do.  How else are you going to drag your suitcase around, look for a taxi, or be energized for that three hour layover? I did not sleep on my flight back, and I was fine, until I hit that long layover, and I was practically falling asleep in the airport food court.  Plus, it passes the time if you are bored.

...Or this.

…Or this.

3.  Eat when everyone else eats/Sleep when everyone else sleeps.
This is vaguely similar to that rule ‘sleep when your baby sleeps’.  It is vital to go to bed at a time that other locals are doing the same.  It doesn’t matter if you are so exhausted all you can think about is going to bed, or you want to stay awake all night.  This is the fastest way to get your body back on track.  The first day may be difficult, but it is the best thing you can do, if you don’t want to deal with jet lag for the next few days.

 

Jet lag can be extremely difficult to get over, but slow and surely, your body will become accustomed to the new daylight hours.  You’ll find yourself getting up and going to bed nearer the socially acceptable times in a few days, at most.  They say it takes the same amount of days to get back to your normal self, as hours there were in your flight.  As for me,  I had an eight hour flight across the ocean….I think I will be in for a looooong week.

                             Do you have any jet lag coping tips?

One thought on “Jet Lag Woes

  1. roamingtheworld says:

    Agreed. It’s day 9 for me being back in the states and I think jet-lag is over… but yes. Drinking water is key as is sleeping. I was so happy to wake up 20 minutes before touching down in SFO. I was like, “wait, what about 2nd meal? I missed it.” Excellent. That much closer to home.
    Welcome back!

Leave a Reply

Mapless Mike

Living without a set route and seeing where life takes me

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Cut the Kitsch

a photographic journal

Love Mondegreens

from Southern Spain to Northern Ireland

Mappingthepeace

Complainings in blog format

Barcelona Blonde

A Barcelona blog and travel blog

Roamingtheworld

Traveler. Wanderer. Writer. Lauren writes about life abroad, her travels, and the unexpected. Currently in the SF Bay Area figuring out her next steps.

Living Clean, Cooking Dirty

Stories from a messy life

Two Flightless Birds

Traveling home overland!

Gee, Cassandra

Madrid and beyond

J|B

notes from writing, teaching & breathing in spain

Gil 2 Go

My two cents on photography, teaching , and expat life

izzi365

girl meets Spain, one day at a time

11.2500° N, 85.8667° W

A year in San Juan Del Sur

Spain Matters

Current affairs, News and What's On

One Bite at a Time

Traveling constantly, sampling liberally, living dramatically.

Spain For Pleasure

Culture, Lifestyle & Travel Blog about Spain

