My Big Decision

10

July 13, 2013 by ebostick1212

Apologies to everyone reading my blog.  I know I have been absent for a few weeks, but my life has been jam packed with stressful, life-changing events.
I have been racking my brain, trying to figure out how to break my news to everyone.

So here goes.

I am kicking off the nomad shoes for a little while, and starting a teaching job in Virginia.

It was a bittersweet decision. On the one hand I am excited to start a life as a young professional, and gain experience as a French and Spanish teacher.  On the other, I am pining for Andalucían culture.  Yet this a big step, and one I need to take with my current family situation.

image (35)

When I first mentioned the thoughts about going home for a little while, I got so many comments like:

‘You are so young! You HAVE to use this chance to see the world!

And

‘You are voluntarily leaving your boyfriend’s country?  Why?’

And

‘You can get a grown up job later!’

I get it.  I know why people say these things.  There is some truth to this kind of comment.  Yet I know the best thing to do right now is to get a well paid job, an apartment, and a savings account.

image (36)
I consider myself incredibly lucky.  I have already spent most of my adult life seeing the majority of Europe, and living on my own in strange, foreign lands.  Traveling is not ‘out of my system’ by any means, but I need to take a break right now to recoup.

On top of this, I have a family that has really welcomed me back to the US with open arms, and smiles on their faces, and I look forward to seeing them on a frequent basis.  I also have a Spanish boyfriend who supports my decisions, and only wants to see me happy and strong, even if it means we are 3,000 miles away from each other for the time being.  There are skeptics, but it will work out in the long run.  I am in a good place.

image (37)
So I am back in the US for a bit, but I will continue to experience new things, like having my own apartment, and teaching middle schoolers.  I will get to look upon my country, and see its beauty with refreshed eyes.  And perhaps most interesting of all, I will be experiencing a culture that is completely foreign to me, as a Rhode Island girl….good old Southern hospitality!

image (38)
Maybe some people will ‘un-follow’ my blog, now that I will be writing about some new American adventures more often than I write about Spain.  It doesn’t matter.  I am looking forward to seeing America in a new light, and yes, returning to Spain every once in awhile.  To me, my blog isn’t just about Spanish culture.  It is about the culture I encounter anywhere on the globe, and that is what interests me more than anything else.

10 thoughts on “My Big Decision

  1. roamingtheworld says:

    Good for you! It’s a difficult decision and I totally get it. After 2 years in 2 different regions, I felt ready to come back… but to nothing planned. No job lined up but with the idea I want to stay in the SF Bay area for a while, where I’m from. SOmetimes it feels easier to hop on a plane and figure out an academy job back in Spain but I know I need to challenge myself to figure out a life, even if temporary, here. Finding a well-paid job as always alluded me. will see what comes next!
    Congrats!

    • ebostick1212 says:

      Thanks 🙂 This definitely wasn’t a decision I took lightly. I even went through the visa renewal process in Cordoba! But this is what I need to do right now, so I will do it. Good luck with the job search in Spain!

      • roamingtheworld says:

        I know. Big decisions are never easy. I’m in the states looking for work…

  2. Josh says:

    Good for you! And keep the posts coming in – doesn’t matter where you are or what you’re writing about, and you’ll soon be reaching out to a much wider audience! Good luck 🙂

  3. D says:

    I just spent two years teaching ELA in Texas and blogging about it, while reading your blog all the last year and dreaming about my adventure to come. Now I’m headed to Spain and cannot wait to read about all the fun you’ll have teaching middle schoolers. Good job on making your decision for you!

  4. Good for you! I look forward to reading all about your USA adventures! Good luck 🙂

  5. Cassandra says:

    Good for you for making a decision and sticking to it. As much as I love living abroad too, I still can’t help but question it sometimes as I miss family and remind myself that there is so much exploring to be done in the States. From everything you’ve said, going back is the right step for you at this time. Que disfrutes de unas aventuras nuevas!

Leave a Reply

Mapless Mike

Living without a set route and seeing where life takes me

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Cut the Kitsch

a photographic journal

Love Mondegreens

from Southern Spain to Northern Ireland

Mappingthepeace

Complainings in blog format

Barcelona Blonde

A Barcelona blog and travel blog

Roamingtheworld

Traveler. Wanderer. Writer. Lauren writes about life abroad, her travels, and the unexpected. Currently in the SF Bay Area figuring out her next steps.

Living Clean, Cooking Dirty

Stories from a messy life

Two Flightless Birds

Traveling home overland!

Gee, Cassandra

Madrid and beyond

J|B

notes from writing, teaching & breathing in spain

Gil 2 Go

My two cents on photography, teaching , and expat life

izzi365

girl meets Spain, one day at a time

11.2500° N, 85.8667° W

A year in San Juan Del Sur

Spain Matters

Current affairs, News and What's On

One Bite at a Time

Traveling constantly, sampling liberally, living dramatically.

Spain For Pleasure

Culture, Lifestyle & Travel Blog about Spain

