Settling In

Leave a comment

September 13, 2013 by ebostick1212

It has been a loooooong time since I have been ‘settled’.  I have I been hopping between countries yearly, and moving between apartments twice as often.  The idea of staying in one place for an extended length of time seems completely foreign to me. (No pun intended).

Lately, I have found myself thinking:

‘Ok, what is the plan for next year?’

I realize the plan for next year is to continue doing the same thing that I am doing now: teaching in Fredericksburg.  That is the aim.  It doesn’t change, so unlike the nomadic life I lived before.

That being said, this is a great place to settle.  It is a relatively unknown, teeny-tiny city living in the shadow of Washington DC.  I like it here.  I think it is a well balanced place to live.  It has all the charm of small town USA, but downtown does have a cosmopolitan feel.

While the town has its fair share of young, modern up-and-comers, never have I felt so steeped in American culture than now.  I walk over the footsteps of fallen Civil War soldiers without a second thought. My apartment building was built in 1825. I live down the street from George Washington’s mother!

Being from Rhode Island, I am probably as ‘yankee’ as they come.  I am not yet sure if this is a blessing or a curse.  One would think that this wouldn’t be a factor in social situations, just miles outside of Washington DC, but don’t let Google Maps fool you.  Fredericksburg is definitely the South.

As each day passes, I learn a little bit about my newly adopted hometown, and settle in a little further.  I hang a picture in my apartment, and it creates a sense of permanency.  I go out with new friends on the weekends.  With every passing day, I realize that Fredericksburg is now my new home.

 

Leave a Reply

Mapless Mike

Living without a set route and seeing where life takes me

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Cut the Kitsch

a photographic journal

Love Mondegreens

from Southern Spain to Northern Ireland

Mappingthepeace

Complainings in blog format

Barcelona Blonde

A Barcelona blog and travel blog

Roamingtheworld

Traveler. Wanderer. Writer. Lauren writes about life abroad, her travels, and the unexpected. Currently in the SF Bay Area figuring out her next steps.

Living Clean, Cooking Dirty

Stories from a messy life

Two Flightless Birds

Traveling home overland!

Gee, Cassandra

Madrid and beyond

J|B

notes from writing, teaching & breathing in spain

Gil 2 Go

My two cents on photography, teaching , and expat life

izzi365

girl meets Spain, one day at a time

11.2500° N, 85.8667° W

A year in San Juan Del Sur

Spain Matters

Current affairs, News and What's On

One Bite at a Time

Traveling constantly, sampling liberally, living dramatically.

Spain For Pleasure

Culture, Lifestyle & Travel Blog about Spain

