Becoming Ms. B

3

October 25, 2013 by ebostick1212

I am not going to put this lightly.  Being an classroom assistant in Sevilla was light years easier than most other things I have done.  I would show up, speak some English, have some coffee in the break room, and head home.  I learned a lot, but it wasn’t particularly challenging. I taught things, but I didn’t manage the bulk of the work. In that sense, I didn’t really consider myself a ‘real’ teacher.

 

Well, now I am a ‘real teacher’, with textbooks, and meetings, and parent teacher conferences.  By comparison, it is one of the most difficult things I have been put up against.  I run my own classroom, with my own rules.  I plan everything down to the last detail, and spend most of my nights on my sofa, watching Hulu while grading Spanish grammar.

My whole existence is slowly being buried in books.

My whole existence is slowly being buried in books.

Don’t get me wrong, it isn’t a bad thing at all.  In fact, I really love it, but after life in Spain, it was a shock to the system.  What do you mean I have to be up before the crack of dawn?!

 

They say your first year teaching is the hardest.  I can’t say I disagree.  These last few months I have run the emotional gamete from seeing students have their ‘aha!’ moment, to hiding in the bathroom to wipe away a few tears after a particularly tough class.  My whole life revolves around my planner, and it isn’t close to letting up.

Planning is my life.

Planning is my life.

 

I am teaching two languages this year.  Spanish and French.  Slipping into Spanish feels like putting on an old pair of well-broken in shoes.  After recent year in Spain, it just feels right.  It has been awhile since I have gotten to use my French, and sometimes when I speak, it feels like a rusty bicycle chain.  Though, with every new unit, I am regaining some of the fluency I lost.

 

I know I can do this.  I know I will get through this year.  I am exhausted, physically, emotionally, and spirtually, but I will get through it.  I become a better teacher with each passing class, and I will only continue to get better.  I have earned the right to call myself ‘Ms. Bostick’.

3 thoughts on “Becoming Ms. B

  1. roamingtheworld says:

    Wow. I can only imagine the intensity. I always felt strange to call myself a “teacher” too in Spain because I usually just showed up, minus the activities I’d bring into some of my classes that I’d find on ESL sites.

    I’ve been considering getting a credential to work in public schools but I’ve been questioning if it’s “worth it”, mostly for the debt to earn it and then the 50-70 work week that no one talks about unless you’re a teacher…

    I want that work/social balance in life… Not sure what that looks like. Good for you for giving it your all and jumping in head first.

    Keep doing what you’re doing! You’re great!

    Yes, you deserve to be called Ms. Bostick!

    • ebostick1212 says:

      Thanks for the comment!

      I did take the plunge! I have known I’ve wanted to be a teacher for awhile, now. (After I took French Interpreting and Translation in college and hated it!)

      The workload in Spain was super light, and the tasks were ‘easy’, but it was a good way to prep me for a classroom. I don’t think I would have wanted to run my own classroom without being an auxiliar, first.

      Now that I am getting the hang of teaching my own class, I wouldn’t have it any other way, and the only way out is up, right?

  2. almcgough says:

    Eeek! You will be able to power through for sure. After the year in Spain, at least you are comfortable in front of the classroom, so that’s a perk!

Leave a Reply

Mapless Mike

Living without a set route and seeing where life takes me

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Cut the Kitsch

a photographic journal

Love Mondegreens

from Southern Spain to Northern Ireland

Mappingthepeace

Complainings in blog format

Barcelona Blonde

A Barcelona blog and travel blog

Roamingtheworld

Traveler. Wanderer. Writer. Lauren writes about life abroad, her travels, and the unexpected. Currently in the SF Bay Area figuring out her next steps.

Living Clean, Cooking Dirty

Stories from a messy life

Two Flightless Birds

Traveling home overland!

Gee, Cassandra

Madrid and beyond

J|B

notes from writing, teaching & breathing in spain

Gil 2 Go

My two cents on photography, teaching , and expat life

izzi365

girl meets Spain, one day at a time

11.2500° N, 85.8667° W

A year in San Juan Del Sur

Spain Matters

Current affairs, News and What's On

One Bite at a Time

Traveling constantly, sampling liberally, living dramatically.

Spain For Pleasure

Culture, Lifestyle & Travel Blog about Spain

