Embracing the American Life

Leave a comment

November 4, 2013 by ebostick1212

You could say that being abroad for five years has changed me, but I don’t think that is necessarily true.  Whenever I am back in the US, I fall back into a familiar American place, and no amount of travel will change that.  Some things are just ingrained within me, by now.  Here are some things that I reverted to almost immediately when I got home.

 

1.  I am a workaholic–  I said ‘so long’ to the siesta as soon as I stepped back down on American soil.  As a new teacher, I cannot afford to siesta every afternoon.  I know people think teachers don’t work hard.  They get out at 3:00, and have summers off, right?  Not so true.  I never take a break.  I plan and grade during weekends, and work all week.  While every so often I long for a siesta, my American mentality kicks in, and I get over it.

This is my life.

This is my life.

 

2.  I drink ridiculous amounts of coffee–I have enthusiastically embraced the 20 ounce cup of coffee.  This is the fuel for my workaholism.  I know that other cultures don’t lug around giant mugs, but I do now, and I love it.  Don’t get me wrong, I love a strong espresso or a leche manchada like any other Spaniard, but there is something comforting about Wawa’s hot, watery sludge.

This is a daily occurrence.    Yes.  That is 20 ounces.

This is a daily occurrence. Yes. That is 20 ounces.

 

3.  I drive everywhere–I will be honest, I wish I could change this.  I really enjoyed being within walking distance of everything last year.  Now I live in the center of Fredericksburg, but I still have to drive to work, and to the store, and to the bank.  I try to bike, and walk where I can, but there is no getting around the huge amounts of driving.

Setting off on my road trip.

Setting off on my road trip.

 

4.  I eat Chipotle–Chipotle is delicious.  Yeah, tapas were great, but you can’t beat those huge burritos, and tasty guacamole.  Living in Spain, I would have mail ordered Chipotle if I could.  I have definitely earned some jerk points for ordering with a Spanish accent.

Delicious.

Delicious.

 

5. I call people.  All. The. Time.–In Spain, I had a cheapo pay-as-you-go phone, with little to no battery life.  Needless to say, I never used it.  It was a portable text message machine, because calling a person meant throwing away a ton of money.  Now that I have a ‘real’ phone, I am reaping the benefits.  1400 free minutes? Unlimited data?  I have finally entered the modern world!

My old phone.  Basically an expensive alarm clock.

My old phone. Basically an expensive alarm clock.

 

So, I have settled quite well into American life.  After all, it is my own.  It is my culture, and I love it. The good things, and the bad things.  After so many years living in so many places, my own culture seems quite fluid, and I can adapt to the culture around me.  Yet when I head home, my own culture always solidifies.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Mapless Mike

Living without a set route and seeing where life takes me

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Cut the Kitsch

a photographic journal

Love Mondegreens

from Southern Spain to Northern Ireland

Mappingthepeace

Complainings in blog format

Barcelona Blonde

A Barcelona blog and travel blog

Roamingtheworld

Traveler. Wanderer. Writer. Lauren writes about life abroad, her travels, and the unexpected. Currently in the SF Bay Area figuring out her next steps.

Living Clean, Cooking Dirty

Stories from a messy life

Two Flightless Birds

Traveling home overland!

Gee, Cassandra

Madrid and beyond

J|B

notes from writing, teaching & breathing in spain

Gil 2 Go

My two cents on photography, teaching , and expat life

izzi365

girl meets Spain, one day at a time

11.2500° N, 85.8667° W

A year in San Juan Del Sur

Spain Matters

Current affairs, News and What's On

One Bite at a Time

Traveling constantly, sampling liberally, living dramatically.

Spain For Pleasure

Culture, Lifestyle & Travel Blog about Spain

